‘Popularity’

17 Mar

I hated school, even now after i haven’t been into school for over a year i get scared when i go past in the car.
The first years are fine, but after 2/3 years people start giving into peer pressure and try to get popular. I never had many friends but the friends i had were real friends, they liked me for who i was, i didn’t have to pretend to be someone i’m not which is what most people do these days.

The ‘popular’ people didn’t speak to me, when they were on their own they’d say hi, but when they were with the other people they’d ignore me, that really annoyed me. My cousin was classed as one of the popular kids, which was hard because he wouldn’t speak to me at all, it seemed to me that he thought if he spoke to me that wasn’t ‘cool’. His friends didn’t like me so maybe he thought because they don’t like me he couldn’t like me either. I don’t know, it’s confusing.

If someone got called to the head teacher someone would come and get the person from the classroom, “Can …. come to the office please”, people would cheer because someone got called to the headteacher, some people tried to get sent to the head teacher on purpose and when they did they’d just laugh. If someone was in isolation that would be funny, if someone shouted back at the teachers people would laugh.

In school people would dress the same, have the same hair styles etc, it’s like they try to be different by following the others, it’s like they are scared to be themselves, well you are judged for every single thing in school so maybe that’s why.

“Do what you think is right and to hell with your popularity.”

School is where you ‘create yourself’ but how are you supposed to do that when every time you change yourself you get judged.

“Be the real you and don’t worry about those who judge you because most of the time they don’t really matter.”

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

