First Day Of Work.

12 Nov

OMG i was so scared and i still am.
Arrived early and i got introduced to everyone, they were all lovely, then i waited for this lady to arrive who would be talking me through things and telling me what to do etc.
I spoke a bit to a lady who was opposite me on another desk, i’m not very good at talking though so tried my best. Forgot everyone’s names already. I got given a few little thing’s to do because it was my first day, like makingΒ tea’s and coffee’s for everyone and doing paperwork and stuff.

Think i found of today how ill i still am :/ Was sitting there most of the time just thinking about painkillers and how i could go to the shop to buy some. I hate being ill like this, it’s so scary. And it’s so hard trying to concentrate on work when you’re having these thoughts etc.

I had an hour’s dinner, i didn’t know what to do at all, i can’t really go anywhere on my own so i just got outside and decided to go to see these people i know in this other office, as soon as i got into their office and they started asking how work’s going i started crying, i was so scared and so nervous. I sat with them and had my dinner with them, and just spent most of the time on facebook :3

The people were all very welcoming, i just wish i was more talkative, i hate being quiet! Hopefully i won’t be as scared and nervous tomorrow!

Thanks for all of your support. Means a lot.
Stay Strong.

4 Responses to “First Day Of Work.”

  1. releasing lunacy November 12, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Beth!!!! I’m sooooooooo PROUD of YOU!!! Working is difficult -especially for those of us with mental illness and emotional issues. But, you are doing it!! Big sigh of relief…. your very first day is done! πŸ™‚

    I used to train summer interns at a former job. Like I tweeted last night, no one expects you to know everything… or anything, for that matter. What you are doing right now is called on-the-job training -learning as you go. And, remember, EVERY job is important. Making tea & coffee and doing light paperwork is a HUGE help to those members of the staff higher up. They might not always say thanks, but what you’re doing is being a part of a team. And, you are an important part of that team.

    I’ll tell you a silly story about my first office job. I worked in retail throughout college, but it wasn’t until after I graduated from college that I took my first office job -it was through a temp agency. I had to answer phones, which terrified me! And, I had to do things like make copies and send faxes. However, I didn’t know how to use a fax machine! I had no clue! I was a 22-year-old college graduate, and I didn’t know how to send a fax. But, I learned πŸ™‚

    All the people you met today understand it’s nerve-wracking to start a new job. They know you’re anxious. They might not realize just how anxious, but that’s okay. It will take time to get to know one another -take it slow.

    Some suggestions on talking to your new co-workers….
    (1) Ask how long they’ve been working there. Hopefully, this will open a dialogue and they’ll tell you a little bit about what they like about their job or what they do.
    (2) Notice what’s on their desk or the walls of their office. Does it look like they have children? Are they fans of a sports team? Do they have lots of plants on their desk? Do they have funny calendar? Do they have pictures of any pets? Etc. Anything you can ask about or comment on to start a conversation.
    (3) Everyone likes compliments. If a female co-worker is wearing a necklace or jacket or pair of shoes you like, it’s okay to say you like it. But only with female co-workers, and you don’t want to over do this or say anything insincere.
    (4) When all else fails, talk about the weather!

    I know these are common sense sort of suggestions that everyone knows, but it’s easy to forget how to get a conversation started when we’re anxious. And, it’s okay to be quiet too!!! You’re there to work. I’ve never known someone to get into trouble for being too quiet at work… however, talking too much, just like in class, can get us into trouble. It doesn’t sound like you’ll have to worry about that though!!

    Don’t be concerned about forgetting names… I’m terrible with names!! Just say “I’m sorry. I’m terrible with names. What’s yours again?” I think most people have a hard time with names!

    That’s so cool you have people you know nearby to have dinner with. Good for you going to find them. It sounds like you needed a bit of a breather.

    You are doing awesome! And the best part about today is that you ACCOMPLISHED something BIG! No matter what happens tomorrow or next month -TODAY you did something BIG! You made it through your first day on the job! πŸ˜€ You rock!

    Take care & keep us posted.
    RL

    • hiddenbeth November 13, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

      Thank you so much lovely, my second day was better πŸ™‚

      Hahaha I had to use a machine I’ve never even heard of so just asked someone to show me and now I use it all the time πŸ˜€

      I like being given jobs to do because otherwise I don’t really know what to do, and the person I get most of the jobs off I can see is very busy so I’m glad to help πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad they’re nice people though, that’s what I was worrying most about πŸ™‚

      Hope you’re well xx

  2. Dazza November 12, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Hi Beth,

    Entering a new workplace is a very daunting experience but I am sure everyone around you understands this and will help you as much as they can to adjust.

    As for being quiet I can really relate to you as I am very quiet and find it difficult to talk to people sometimes as well. I know how hard it is turn off your self-consciousness (without the aid of alcohol!) and the way this can make you feel smaller than others.

    Just remember this: shyness is not laziness and being quiet is not a character flaw. In time your colleagues will see your good nature by the way you work and the way you treat others and your confidence will grow. Also, the next time you feel nervous talking to someone, bear in mind that there’s a good chance they are feeling a bit nervous as well!

    Take each day as it comes Beth and you’ll settle in but above all just be yourself.

    And don’t forget us at Bullies Out. I’m sure the other mentors have plenty of good advice for you.

    Keep the force strong inside you!

    Dazza πŸ˜€

    • hiddenbeth November 13, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      Thank you lovely πŸ™‚
      I was speaking to a member of staff and they said they’re recently new too and they said they know its horrible at first πŸ™‚

      Thanks again xx

Leave a Reply

